Greetings!  It’s a bit belated, but welcome back for the 2016-2017 academic year in the UALR English Department.  Dr. Kris McAbee is on OCDA (Off-Campus Duty Assignment), so Doc Yoder is back for the semester as Interim-Director.  As some of you may have heard, this will be my final year as full-time faculty at UALR, so let’s have some fun!


This year marks the 20-year anniversary of the William G. Cooper, Jr. Honors Program in English.  In those 20 years, the program has distributed over $600,000 in scholarships and other student support, and the Cooper Lecture Series has hosted well over a 100 speakers, including the likes of Stanley Fish, Tim O’Brien, Angela Davis, and Martha Redbone.  The program supports English Department programming at all levels includeing student research, and recruitment.  Plan to help us celebrate 20 years of Cooper Honors in the Spring when Dr. McAbee returns!


The Cooper Program is pleased to announce that it awarded 15 stipends this year.  First year stipend winners are Naty Doris (deferred from last year), Tiffany Fisher, Keith Harper, Jennifer Shaw, Joy Williams, and Kristina Yarberry.  Second year winners are Yasmeen Al-Shukri, Olivia Dunlap, Lindsey Fisher, Blaise Hale, Allison Ousnamer, Meghan Reed, Josiah Simpson, Sara Snyder, and Krystopher Stephens.  We congratulate these students on their success.

Cooper stipends are $1300 per semester, for  up to 4 semesters.  Stipends are awarded on a competitive basis.  To graduate with Cooper Honors in English, students must be English majors, with a 3.5 GPA in English, and 3.25 overall.  They must complete a Cooper seminar (English 4350), a 2-hour honors tutorial (English 4260), and an honors writing project (English 4270).  The Cooper Program considers applications twice a year, in December (to begin in the following spring) and in May (to begin the following fall).  The deadline for applications is always Consultation Day of either Fall or Spring semester.  The next application deadline is December 6, 2016.  More information and application forms can be found here.  For even more information, please contact Doc Yoder at


The Cooper Honors Program in English is putting together another exciting speaker series for the year.  First up is . . .


STEWART O’NANWednesday, October 19, 7:00pm. Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall, UALR Fine Arts Building, 2801 S. University Avenue, Little Rock, AR 72204

Stewart O’Nan is the author of sixteen novels, including City of SecretsWest of SunsetThe Odds, Emily Alone, Songs for the Missing, Last Night at the Lobster, A Prayer for the Dying, and Snow Angels. His short story collection, In the Walled City won the Drue Heinz Prize, Snow Angels won the Pirates Alley William Faulkner Prize and was made into a feature film directed by David Gordon Green and staring Sam Rockwell and Kate Beckinsale, Last Night at the Lobster was a national bestseller and a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. He also co-authored with Stephen King the national bestselling nonfiction Faithful: Two Diehard Boston Red Sox Fans Chronicle the Historic 2004 Season.  You can check out his website here.

This is event is sponsored by the William G. Cooper, Jr. Honors Program in English and the College of Arts, Letters, and Sciences.  For more information, please Prof. Jeffrey Condran ( or Doc Yoder (


Dr. Jeremy Ecke will offer a Cooper Honors Seminar on “Arthurian Adaptation” in Spring 2017.  The class will meet on T/Th 10:50-12:05.This class will explore the stories and myths surrounding King Arthur and his court in English, Welsh, and French traditions. Readings will range from seminal texts like Geoffrey of Monmouth’s Historia Regum Britanniae, Wace’s Roman de Brut, and Thomas Malory’s Le Morte d’Arthur to looser adaptations like Tennyson’s “Idylls of the King” and Twains A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court. We will supplement our core readings with adaptations in film, theater, television, and other popular forms and genres.  For more information, please contact Dr. Ecke at


Know somebody who is planning to transfer to UALR?  The English Department and the Cooper Honors Program are pleased to announce the new Cooper Promise Award.  The Cooper Promise Award is a one-time $2500 scholarship for an incoming transfer student enrolling at UALR in Spring 2017 with at least 30 hours college credit completed. Recipient must declare a major in one of the English department concentrations (English, English with an emphasis in Creative Writing, or English with an emphasis in Secondary Education). This scholarship is funded through the William J. Cooper Honors Program in English.  The deadline for applying for the Spring 2017 Promise Award is October 26, 2016. Guidelines and the application form can be found here.  For more information, please contact Doc Yoder at

As always, if you see any errors, or have any problems with the Broadsheet, please contact Doc Yoder at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s